A professional photocopier is defined as any person who for compensation obtains or reproduces documents authorized to be produced, and who, while engaged in performing that activity, has access to the information contained therein.
Laws concerning professional photocopiers are set forth in the California Business and Professions Code (BPC 22450-22463).
Professional photocopiers must register with the County Clerk of the county in which they reside or have their principal place of business and in which they maintain a branch office.
At least one person involved in the management of a professional photocopier operation is required to hold a current commission from the Secretary of State as a notary public in California.
To register as a professional photocopier in Sacramento County, you must appear in-person at any of our office locations and:
- Present valid photo identification (such as a driver's license, passport, or military I.D.)
- Present a professional photocopier bond in the amount of $5,000 which names the registrant as principal and provides the term of the bond
- Prior to appearing at one of our office locations, please complete the online application form and submit it electronically (If renewing your registration, the completion of the online application is not required):
- Pay the appropriate fees*
A certificate of registration is effective for a period of two years or until the date the bond expires, whichever occurs first. Renewal can take place up to 60 days prior to the expiration date, and the effective date of the renewal will be the date the current registration expires. Upon renewal of a certificate of registration, the same number shall be assigned, provided that the applicant is renewing registration in the same county in which he or she was previously registered and there is no lapse of three or more years in the period of registration.
File registration: $55.00
File bond: $10.00
Record bond*: $20.00 for the first page and $3.00 for each additional page
Each additional ID card: $37.00
*When registering at either of our service center locations or after 3:00 p.m. at our Downtown office, the recording fee for the bond must be paid by a separate check or cash. Find out about acceptable forms of payment.